River map of France

Map of river routes

The 5 main rivers of France

France has 5 rivers of great importance. They are the Garonne, the Loire, the Rhine, the Rhône and the Seine. A river is a watercourse that flows either into a sea or into an ocean. Rivers are fed by other watercourses, which are called tributaries. The most important tributaries are rivers. On the map above you can see the rivers of metropolitan France. Here are the characteristics of the 5 French rivers:

The Garonne

The Garonne is a river in the southwest of France, it originates from another country, Spain at 1875 m altitude, at the Maladeta glacier. This river travels 650 km (575 km of which are in France) before flowing into the Atlantic Ocean. Its flow is around 700 m3/s. Its tributaries are the Garonne, the Ariège, the Tarn, the Lot and the Dordogne.

The Loire

The Loire is the longest river in France, it rises at an altitude of 1315 m, in the Macif Central, in the Ardèche. After 1012 km, like the Garonne, the Loire flows into the Atlantic Ocean. Its flow is about 1000 m3/s.

The Rhine

The Rhine is a 1320 km long river, it originates in the Swiss Alps, flows through Lichtenstein, Germany, France for 188 km and finally the Netherlands before flowing into the North Sea. Its flow is about 1050 m3/s. Its main tributaries are the Aare, the Neckar, the Main, the Lahn, the Ill, the Ruhr and the Lippe.

The Rhone

The Rhône also originates in the Swiss Alps at an altitude of 1800 m (Mont Saint Gothard). This river covers 812 km, of which 522 km are in France before flowing into the Mediterranean Sea. Its flow rate is around 1500 m3/s.

The Seine

The Seine has its source in the Paris Basin at an altitude of 470 m. The Seine covers 776 km then flows into the English Channel. It has the lowest flow rate, about 500 m3/s.


Select a region :
Select a department :

Carte de France fluviale

Carte routes fluviales

Les 5 principaux fleuves de France

La France compte 5 fleuves de grande importance. ce sont La Garonne, La Loire, Le Rhin, Le Rhône et la Seine. Un fleuve est un cours d'eau qui se jette soit dans une mer, soit dans un océan. Les fleuves sont alimentés par d'autres cours d'eau, qu'on appel les affluents. Les affluents les plus importants sont les rivières. Sur la carte ci-dessus vous pouvez voir les fleuves et rivières de la France métropolitaine. Voici les caractéristiques des 5 fleuves français :

La Garonne

La Garonne est un fleuve du sud ouest de la France, il prend sa source d'un autre pays, en Espagne à 1875 m d'altitude, au glacier de la Maladeta. Ce fleuve parcourt 650 km (dont 575 km en France) avant de se jeter dans l'océan Atlantique. Son débit avoisine 700 m3/s. Ses affluents sont la Garonne, l'Ariège, le Tarn, le Lot et la Dordogne.

La Loire

La Loire est un fleuve est le plus long fleuve français, il prend sa source à 1315 m d'altitude, dans le Macif Central, dans l'Ardèche. Après avoir parcourut 1012 km, comme La Garonne, La Loire se jète dans l'océan Atlantique. Son débit avoisine 1000 m3/s.

Le Rhin

La Rhin est un fleuve long de 1320 km, il prend sa source dans les Alpes Suisse, il traverse le Lichtenstein, l'Allemagne, La France sur 188 km et enfin les Pays Bas avant de se jeter dans la Mer du Nord. Son débit avoisine les 1050 m3/s. Ses principaux affluents sont l’Aare, le Neckar, le Main, la Lahn, l’Ill, la Ruhr et la Lippe.

Le Rhône

Le Rhône prend aussi sa source dans les Alpes suisses à 1800 m d'altitude (mont Saint Gothard). Ce fleuve parcourt 812 km, dont 522 km en France avant de se jeter dans la Mer Mediterranée. Son débit avoisine 1500 m3/s.

La Seine

La Seine prend sa source dans le Bassin Parisien à 470 m d'altitude. La Seine parcourt 776 km puis se jète dans la Manche. Elle a le débit le plus faible, environ 500 m3/s.


Sélectionner une région :
Sélectionner un département :